overhead press

gardni

Midfield
Is it supposed to be really difficult?

I've started the stronglifts program last month as a complete beginner to properly lifting. So for those unfamiliar, you start with an empty bar and add 2.5kg each workout. doing 3x a week alternating between squat, bench press, barbell row + squat, overhead press, deadlift.

so as i say i'm about a month in, the weights start easy so they really help a novice get used to lifting the free bar, however i'm already struggling with the overhead press. today i failed one rep on one of my 5 sets. so i did something like 5 5 5 4 5. I'm only at 35kg, but as i was pushing up my arms just didn't want to do what i wanted them to and they gave up.

so a bit of perspective on that 35kg overhead press, that means today i also did 55kg squat, 70kg deadlift, on monday i did 35kg bench press, 42.5kg barbell row with no problems. should i be struggling with the overhead press already or am i just a weakling?

I got to 42.5kg on ohp 5x5 but my shoulders hurt afterwards so I dropped to 3x8 @ 35kg for a while.

Back to 40kg 5x5 which is shite compared to my 80kg bench but everyone is made differently. I also have switched to lower weight more reps on bent over row as my form suffered. I do 60kg 5x5 with usually 6 or 7 reps on the final set. I could lift more but I would rather have good form.

I think a flaw of StrongLifts is that people expect to make the same progression on all lifts

And check the rippetoe video for ohp.

And buy some smaller plates when you cannot add 2.5kg.

Last edited:
I feel like bench is just a more natural position, so I guess I'd expect to handle that better, but yeah I think the amounts are a bit misleading in the sense of I think I must be doing shit if I didn't manage it easily so early into the prog