Help Please

Status
Not open for further replies.

Mike J

Winger
Right it's time for me to get off my arse and sort my health, weight, lifestyle out. I'm 6ft, 39 and 17 1/2 stone (I know) what is the best starting point? I know I need to cut down on the booze, eat more healthily, but not sure where to start with the excersie.

In the past I have gone to the gym and used a personal trainer, but my motivation is on the floor at present, any hints, tips, reading material etc would be hugely appreciated.

Cheers in advance

I'm no expert but I can tell you how I've lost 1 1/2 stone and counting...

I watched my calories, only had 1700 a day to start off with (I'm much smaller and lighter than you tho so you don't want to go that low), i swapped coffee at work for a litre of water (still had a cuppa on my break and dinner tho), and I went running (started off with 2 mile which i struggled with but now i can go anywhere between 6 and 10 and I'm doing the GNR).

Currently I don't watch my calories and basically eat what I want within reason. Ive only had 1 take away in 3 months but still have chocolate and pop. I go running at least 4 times a week, sometimes 5 or 6 and I feel so good. I know it sounds harsh but just get off your arse, get your trainers on and get running. In a months time you will feel so much better...

I'm quite early in my diet / lifestyle change and so far i've lost 8lbs in 5 weeks.

I'm using a tool call MyFitnessPal and recording what i eat & all the exercise i do and it sets me goals.

Same as King i'm smaller and lighter then you, so you will need more just to get through the day.

I can eat upto 1800 calories a day without any additional exercise at all. So to do this:

I skip break fast, just have black coffee
I have 700 calories for lunch (thats allot TBH, i was stuffed off 430 yesterday)
I have a snack @ 4pm which is normally a bag of Quavers and a piece of fruit
I have my evening meal which I normally aim for 900-1000 calories.