16-8 fasting?

Anyone tried this? Does it work?
I’ve been doing a form of intermittent fasting for about 5 years.

There’s quite a few threads on here, but the idea is to eat normally within a restricted ‘window’.

I usually start eating at about 12 mid-day so any weight loss will probably come from not eating an earlier meal.

Mosley has quite a few articles on BBC.

Last edited:
has been show to contribute to many health benefits.

strictly weight loss, it proves absolutely zero benefit.

You can however use it as a tool IF it helps you to stick to your calorie intake.

I have just done 2 months where I have 2 fast a week each one lasting 24 hours - rest of the week eat and drink as normal. Lost 13lbs in this time which was a 5% weight loss.

I done 5/2 fasting before, I just remember being f***ing freezing on the fast days and having about 100 cups of tea to try and warm up

I kind of naturally live like that when im at it . Only eat between 10am and 6 pm . I dont think it does much weight wise but i feel lighter most of the day .
Just one thing marra , i seem to remember you saying you are under the weather at present .
Just check with the quack its an optimal regime to help you pick up quick 👍

Andrew Huberman goes into the science/evidence of the benefits.

There are a few cut down clips of this discussion. One of them:

You can however use it as a tool IF it helps you to stick to your calorie intake.
makes sense, and the fact you havent slammed it means it can work, but people still need to live with the mantra of tracking calories, no point in gorging for 8 hours per day and going over calories, else it is negating all the health benefits

Breakfast is the least important meal of the day and should be skipped regularly

Breakfast is for wimps iirc
It depends I think.

Ideally I would eat in this pattern:

08:00 breakfast
12:00 dinner (largest meal)
16:00 evening meal
18:00 healthy snack

I can’t really fit this in around work and family commitments.