First car - how much to spend?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tatty

Striker
So I'm a geriatric in learner driver terms (35) but am finally behind the wheel and am progressing well. In preparation for when I pass, I've been looking at cars at around 2003-2006 with not too many miles (under 100k). I've seen a couple of nice Ford Fiestas that fit into this category for around £700-£1k, and was planning on spending around that much and then possibly upgrading in 2-3 years after I've (hopefully) built up some no claims. However my dad has kindly offered to lend me the money so I don't have to pay interest on a personal loan or credit card, and has recommended spending a bit more (maybe around £2-2.5k) as there should be less chance of things going wrong - you get what you pay for kind of thing. I've checked and it doesn't seem to affect my potential insurance costs (if anything the newer, more expensive ones are very slightly cheaper to Insure)

What's the opinion of people on here? What should I be looking out for or trying to avoid?

It's often cheaper to buy a scrapper and when owt gans wrong get rid and buy another scrapper.

Personally I'd say get the newest you can afford maybe 1 or 2 year old.