Overclocking

Status
Not open for further replies.

mux

Striker
I bought my gaming PC for a grand but it's about 4/5 years old now. I don't want to have to fork out for an expensive new system so was thinking of going down the overclocking route but I am a total amateur, can anyone give me any advice on where to start?

@HebburnMackem you seem to know your beans!

I bought my gaming PC for a grand but it's about 4/5 years old now. I don't want to have to fork out for an expensive new system so was thinking of going down the overclocking route but I am a total amateur, can anyone give me any advice on where to start?

@HebburnMackem you seem to know your beans!
Overclocking with stock coolers will give a few percent speed increase at most and slightly more with a better cooling solution.
You might be able to get a replacement graphics card for cheap which will give a MUCH bigger increase in speed.
Whats your system specs?

Overclocking with stock coolers will give a few percent speed increase at most and slightly more with a better cooling solution.
You might be able to get a replacement graphics card for cheap which will give a MUCH bigger increase in speed.
Whats your system specs?
I'm at work at the moment, I'll post the specs when I get a chance. Is replacing the GPU a relatively simple task?

If you bought your PC from a PC World or similar, expect to have no overclocking options.

Anyway games are going away from CPU dependency in my experience, a new graphics card would be what you need. the only problem you might have is compatibility between your older system and a shiney new graphics card (depending on how old your rig is).

If you bought your PC from a PC World or similar, expect to have no overclocking options.