Stained glass windows

Status
Not open for further replies.
Just been in Palma Cathedral and the light coming through the stained glass looks tremendous. Took a couple of photos on the auto setting and they look ok but not brilliant. How can I get the full effect? I just have a Panasonic lumix.

Just been in Palma Cathedral and the light coming through the stained glass looks tremendous. Took a couple of photos on the auto setting and they look ok but not brilliant. How can I get the full effect? I just have a Panasonic lumix.
Without posting one or two its impossible to say.

I'll try but the Internet connection here is ropey. I'm a photography novice so I'm a bit clueless.

What's wrong with them? Are they too bright and therefore losing all the colour and detail, or are they fine but the rest of the church really dark?

I am guessing it's overexposed? Try turning the flash off and use exposure compensation (dial on the back if owt like my GF2) to reduce exposure time.

What's wrong with them? Are they too bright and therefore losing all the colour and detail, or are they fine but the rest of the church really dark?

Too bright and losing detail. I don't normally bother with cathedrals but was gobsmacked at how impressive it was. Would love to capture it properly.

I am guessing it's overexposed? Try turning the flash off and use exposure compensation (dial on the back if owt like my GF2) to reduce exposure time.

Cheers.

Too bright and losing detail. I don't normally bother with cathedrals but was gobsmacked at how impressive it was. Would love to capture it properly.

Cheers.

If its too bright then you / your camera is exposing for the inside of the cathedral which is very dark. What happens is the camera lets loads of light in to make the inside much brighter to expose properly, but the upshot of that is everything gets much brighter, and when the windows are already bright they blow out in to white nothingness.