Respective Takeovers

Status
Not open for further replies.
At this time when within a few months the fortunes of SAFC and the mags in regards to respective takeovers have taken a massive swing with our potentially massive takeover having fizzled out and the mags seemingly pulling an unbelievable takeover out of the bag, what I can’t understand is why someone wanting to invest in a club sees Newcastle as a better long term option than Sunderland.
In order to buy the mags your talking hundreds of millions outlay. Everyone knows if they’re to achieve anything, a huge amount of money will need to be spent on top. Probably a full first team overhaul.
We on the other hands would cost relative buttons to buy, should get out of this league by spending next to nowt with the right recruitment. The right recruitment at this level would also mean you can be competitive in the championship without full overhauls so relatively little money needing to be spent.
Im no financial experts but think a long term plan would be much better and cheaper to implement at a club like ours where everything is already there to be a premier league club but the cost of taking it on and building it up is surely less than buying the mags and spending the huge amounts that would be needed to revamp their squad. Thoughts or educated opinions welcome!!

Well you are right to a point the counter argument to that is that the mags are already in the premier league so investment can start straight away. We are two leagues away from that and making a balls of getting out of this league let alone the championship. The championship also has lots of teams throwing money at getting up. So to get to the premier league would take 2-5 years before then having the task of making a competitive team in the league. That could take 8-10 years and cost more than the price difference between us and the mags.