Rasberry Pi/Coding

Status
Not open for further replies.

BigPete

Striker
Any coders out there id imagine so with it being an internet forum!

Im looking at getting bairn one of those Rasberry Pi things as he does coding at school.

I also work in IT and our minds similar so wana try give him early start see if he likes it and hopefully have brilliant future ahead of him.

Whats the best ones to go for and also any tips would he greatly appreciated please.

Looking at it as one of xmas presents as learning also plus id do it with him as cant help to further my knowledge too.

Thanks in advance
He is 8 btw but very clever

Last edited by a moderator:

I'm not a coder but I also work in IT. At my workplace we use over 200 raspberry pi to display PowerPoint slideshows for the people working on the line for work instructions. They are great to mess about with and the Internet especially the official raspberry pi org website is a massive oracle of info. We mainly run pi 3 but I would really recommend the pi 4, it's quite powerful and can be configured infinitely like the others. I must have had every available os on them and have configured them for basic stuff like a massive live clocks. I do plan on using a pi 4 as retro pie coffee table

Last edited:

Im looking at getting bairn one of those Rasberry Pi things as he does coding at school.

I also work in IT and our minds similar so wana try give him early start see if he likes it and hopefully have brilliant future ahead of him.

Whats the best ones to go for and also any tips would he greatly appreciated please.

Looking at it as one of xmas presents as learning also plus id do it with him as cant help to further my knowledge too.

Thanks in advance
He’s 8 and doing coding? Aren’t they still learning how to spell at that age?

Raspberry pi 400 the pi is built into the keyboard. The OS comes with a python IDE which is probably best language to start him on

Pi4 runs a bit hot.