Plateau/regression

Status
Not open for further replies.
M

Mick Dundee

In the last 3 weeks I've gone from easily benching 3x10 at 65kg to barely managing 3x10 at 45kg. My deadlifts, one armed rows, squats, shoulder press etc have all still progressed well so I'm quite frustrated as to what the problem is.

Any idea what this could be or how I can get back on track? My diet is pretty good, although I struggle to stay away from the "usual place" at work. I was maybe gonna switch to dumbells instead of the bar to mix it up but otherwise I'm stumped.

I'm not an expert but have had similar issuese (although not as drastic) - is it maybe the order of your workout? Presuming you're doing a full body workout if you're starting with squat/deadlift and doing bench after that and those are progressing still then maybe they're just taking too much out of you - i.e. your strength is increasing but your endurance is lagging behind. If so maybe try switching up the routine once a week so you start with bench when you're fresh.

I'm not an expert but have had similar issuese (although not as drastic) - is it maybe the order of your workout? Presuming you're doing a full body workout if you're starting with squat/deadlift and doing bench after that and those are progressing still then maybe they're just taking too much out of you - i.e. your strength is increasing but your endurance is lagging behind. If so maybe try switching up the routine once a week so you start with bench when you're fresh.

Nop, I switched from full body workouts to a day each of chest/shoulderm, legs and back. I was gonna switch back to full body in a couple of weeks to mix things up but might bring it forward.