Kid's football - pitch sizes

Status
Not open for further replies.
The local under 13 league plays on full-sized pitches and full-sized goals. Results from the weekend include 1-13 and 18-0. The game that I watched my son play was almost farcical. 2 lads on the oppo who were nearly 6 feet tall, a hoof from the keeper, steamroller through, *BANG* and a goal.

I've written an email to the local league, should I also send it to the FA?

I am a coach and the club secretary for my own club down here in Northampton. Regarding the issue of pitch sizes/goals the FA set out "recommendations" to the both but at the current time finding the adequate amount of appropriate, age related pitch sizes and goals on public pitches is extremely difficult. The facilities are just not there, unless clubs are lucky enough to have access to private grounds and can set them up themselves plus have the funding to purchase appropriate goals (21ftx7ft) for 11v11 at U13. It is a nightmare trying to follow all the recommendations the majority of the time impossible. The money in football needs to distributed correctly, look at he £800 million plus just spent in the last transfer window in this country!!!! Professional clubs should have to put a percentage of their transfer activity back into grassroots football.

Please could everyone sign this epetition concerning funding in grassroots football. It will only take two minutes of your time- epetitions.direct.gov.uk/petitions/668354

and also have a look at www.savegrassroots.co.uk

Regarding the 6 foot players and hoof up field unfortunately that is down to very bad coaching and playing style. Some teams/coaches play to win at all costs without any understanding or commitment towards the development of the individual players game or the development of the team game. Unfortunately the majority want to win win win regardless of how they accomplish it.