We value your privacy message stuck on desktop

I’ve been using RTG on my desktop for a while now whilst at work. However the “we value your privacy message” is stuck when I’ve gone on today. Whenever I click agree or more options nothing happens. It does let me click “partners” but then nothing after that works.
Help…
 


I sort of get the same type of thing happening as that every so often on different sites.
It's usually a cookie either noscript or an adblocker sometimes mess it up.
Try deleting the readytogo cookie and signing back in with any adblocker disabled .
 

Roger

The Gaffer
Staff member
As cheeses says, it will normally be cookie related, possibly things reconfigured at work?

If you are blocking cookies somehow, the message will always popup.

The stupid law says we have to ask your permission to accept cookies, but of course the only way we can record that is by setting a cookie, so of course if you decline or refuse cookies, we have to ask the question again on each visit.

Clearing cookies and/or cache can also help if things get totally muddled and is worth a try. I haven’t seen any issues myself recently, so it will be something that is localised to your work pc/work environment.

Can you confirm which browser you are using?
 
As cheeses says, it will normally be cookie related, possibly things reconfigured at work?

If you are blocking cookies somehow, the message will always popup.

The stupid law says we have to ask your permission to accept cookies, but of course the only way we can record that is by setting a cookie, so of course if you decline or refuse cookies, we have to ask the question again on each visit.

Clearing cookies and/or cache can also help if things get totally muddled and is worth a try. I haven’t seen any issues myself recently, so it will be something that is localised to your work pc/work environment.

Can you confirm which browser you are using?
Edge. Tried it on chrome working fine on that
 

tiptoad

Striker
Are you using edge/chrome like the others?

Windows presumably?

Any ad blockers/plugins ?

I get this message every single time I click on a new thread or a new page within a thread. I'm using Chrome on a MacBook Pro, I’m not using any blocking software and have no problems with any other sites.
 

Roger

The Gaffer
Staff member
Please help Roger mate, it's doing my head in.

It would do mine in as well. The problem is getting to the bottom of why it is working for most people but some, including you are having problems.

Unfortunately, its not something I can just remove from the site due to the poorly drafted Data Protection Laws.
 

Roger

The Gaffer
Staff member
I have not managed to reproduce the problem on a mac either. Just upgrading to Big Sur 11.6 now to see if that makes any difference (Posting this from mac and chrome with no issues).

Can those of you having problems have a look at Virtual Sunderland (not the forum link as that brings you back here!) and let me know if you see the problem there? Its using exactly the same cookie validation software so will give me some more clues depending whether you have a problem there or not (you will obviously get the popup on first access, but if you accept terms you shouldn't see it on subsequent visits/page accesses)
 

tiptoad

Striker
I have not managed to reproduce the problem on a mac either. Just upgrading to Big Sur 11.6 now to see if that makes any difference (Posting this from mac and chrome with no issues).

Can those of you having problems have a look at Virtual Sunderland (not the forum link as that brings you back here!) and let me know if you see the problem there? Its using exactly the same cookie validation software so will give me some more clues depending whether you have a problem there or not (you will obviously get the popup on first access, but if you accept terms you shouldn't see it on subsequent visits/page accesses)

I followed your link and after getting a warning that the site's not secure I get a similar privacy message each time I click on something.
 

Roger

The Gaffer
Staff member
I followed your link and after getting a warning that the site's not secure I get a similar privacy message each time I click on something.

That is even more odd. The site is secure and has a valid certificate until January next year.

How old is the MacOS and Chrome you are using? Is it up to date with the current encryption methods?
 

tiptoad

Striker
That is even more odd. The site is secure and has a valid certificate until January next year.

How old is the MacOS and Chrome you are using? Is it up to date with the current encryption methods?

The Mac is quite old - it's running El Capitan - which means I can't use the current version of Chrome.

I've come across a couple of sites recently that have been flagged up as not being secure, which could well be down to my browser, so you can probably disregard that bit of information.

But I've not encountered the privacy thing anywhere else.
 
Last edited:

Roger

The Gaffer
Staff member
The Mac is quite old - it's running El Capitan - which means I can't use the current version of Chrome.

I've come across a couple of sites recently that have been flagged up as not being secure, which could well be down to my browser, so you can probably disregard this information.

But I've not encountered the privacy thing anywhere else.

Thanks for that - they probably are linked, as the cookie itself (to store what your selection is), is only sent across an encrypted connection. So if the encryption used by the site (which no longer allows the older insecure protocols) is not accepted by your browser it could well cause issues.

The actual consent popup itself doesn't come directly from RTG or VS as we aren't approved for that, but from a third party (Quantcast).

I will have a mess about seeing if I can reproduce it given the info you have just given me.
 

tiptoad

Striker
Thanks for that - they probably are linked, as the cookie itself (to store what your selection is), is only sent across an encrypted connection. So if the encryption used by the site (which no longer allows the older insecure protocols) is not accepted by your browser it could well cause issues.

The actual consent popup itself doesn't come directly from RTG or VS as we aren't approved for that, but from a third party (Quantcast).

I will have a mess about seeing if I can reproduce it given the info you have just given me.

I don't know what levers you've pulled at your end but the problem seems to have been resolved. For now anyway, fingers crossed ;)

Thanks.
 

Top