Tbf it's impossible to know whether the ref bottled it, or just gave what he thought was the right decision, with the one look, one angle and seconds he had to decide, I think it's the former and whichever box it was in would have done the same, it was two big clubs in a high profile game, more of a theory is he wanted to be 100% sure and wasn't with the one look he had.I’ve got no refereeing experience whatsoever and called it whilst watching the game, so I’d have to disagree with you. Trent moved his arm out to stop the flight of the ball - what’s handball if that isn’t it?
Had a vociferous home crowd screamed penalty, it’s given. The ref bottled it in my opinion and VAR should’ve corrected him, but it seems they’re fairly reluctant to overturn a ref’s orginal decision.
It’s all about opinions like and clearly you see it differently; fair enough.
While watching the game I couldnt tell without watching the replay, the amount of times I watch soccer Saturday see the pundits on there call it then change their mind after replays is massive.