Running thread 2023

Well done you. I'm no expert but The only thing I would caution is increasing your mileage too quickly increases your risk if injury. Think the advice is either. 10/20% (can't remember which) on your longest run each week. Great progress though. Give yourself rest tomorrow after those 10 miles.
I’m taking it incredibly slow tbf, trying to keep my HR down so the pace is embarrassing, finishing feeling fine. Tomorrow will be a rest or upper body weights day

Just signed up for the Edinburgh marathon, 1st time doing it. Does anyone know what its like to get to and from? Being a point to point makes it really difficult from what I can see.

Just signed up for the Edinburgh marathon, 1st time doing it. Does anyone know what its like to get to and from? Being a point to point makes it really difficult from what I can see.
I did this year, we stayed in Edinburgh centre. It was a complete disaster getting back to Edinburgh. We got the train back as had been warned about the buses provided, trains were no better. :lol:

The run itself was great mind.

Simplest way in is park up at the official park & ride at Newcraighall which is right beside the A1 & get the official bus in which drops you at the back of the start area. Downside to that is it's a 20 minute walk to Wallyford park & ride & 30+ minute ride to get the official bus back to Newcraighall. It's also quite expensive.

Alternatively you can park up at Newcraighall & get the number 30 bus from the main road just outside the car park to Saint Patrick square which is 1 street over from where the official bus drops you. Then after the finish you get the number 48 bus from a street called Newbigging back to Newcraighall (turn right as you leave the finish area then once you're past the school Newbigging is the 3rd road on your right. Bus stop is outside another school on the same side of the road as the school)