How much cycling is needed to lose weight?

bayek

Goalkeeper
New to the weight loss and wondering what's the average time required for daily cycling to burn fat and shift the weight?

Burn more calories than you eat. 3,500 calories burnt more than you eat equates to 1lb of fat.
Perfect mate, just the answer I'm looking for. Allowed a max of 1641 calories per day so I know what I've got to hit now.

Perfect mate, just the answer I'm looking for. Allowed a max of 1641 calories per day so I know what I've got to hit now.
Mate, I’m no expert & after covid need to shift a bit myself, but 1641 is very low. Especially if you’re going to be doing exercise on top.

If you’re a numbers person, buy a Fitbit. Work out what your average weekly calorie burn is & go from there. Even if I don’t exercise mine is knocking on 3,000 calories.

Lasses will be a bit lower.

How tall are you and how much do you weigh?
6 foot height and weigh 17st. Was 18 at 3 lb at start of the year.
Mate, I’m no expert & after covid need to shift a bit myself, but 1641 is very low. Especially if you’re going to be doing exercise on top.

If you’re a numbers person, buy a Fitbit. Work out what your average weekly calorie burn is & go from there. Even if I don’t exercise mine is knocking on 3,000 calories.

Ah right I didn't know that, I've got a fit bit and use my fitness pal app to scan all foods and it was that which suggested 1641 based on height, weight and me putting not very active such as office job. It suggested 10000 steps daily which like you say seems to hit the 3000 mark but I prefer the cycling.

Last edited:
6 foot height and weigh 17st. Was 18 at 3 lb at start of the year.

Ah right I didn't know that, I've got a fit bit and use my fitness pal app to scan all foods and it was that which suggested 1641 based on height, weight and me putting not very active such as office job. It suggested 10000 steps daily which like you say seems to hit the 3000 mark but I prefer the cycling.