Help with New Car Technology

gluepot

Striker
I had to move someone's car today. It was a brand new Lexus.
Please take into account I drive an old banger.
So I got the "keys", but I was told just had to put the black round thing next to a button.
... but that's ok so far.....
It was a hybrid as well so I was confused as there was no engine noise when the engine switched on.
It was all button pressing and fannying around.
There was no hand brake.
Eventually someone helped me to work it out I I managed to drive the car about 50 yard.
I parked it up but I left it unlocked as I could not work out how to lock it, I saw a load of messages flashing up on the dash.
I admit I'm not very good with technology but jesus I felt so inadequate.

Has anyone else suffered a similar situation with not being able to understand the new controls???

So I got the "keys", but I was told just had to put the black round thing next to a button.
It was a hybrid as well so I was confused as there was no engine noise when the engine switched on.
There was no hand brake.
Eventually someone helped me to work it out I I managed to drive the car about 50 yard.
I parked it up but I left it unlocked as I could not work out how to lock it, I saw a load of messages flashing up on the dash.

Has anyone else suffered a similar situation with not being able to understand the new controls???

Are you my dad?

No, but I am a bit of a techy anyway. But to be honest thing kind of thing is exactly why I have repeatedly said people should be retested every so often. There is no hiding the fact that cars have changed over the years as have the roads. I passed 15 years ago, I learnt in a little Clio that's only tech was electric windows, now I drive an XC60 with cruise control, speed limiter, built in sat nav, etc etc on roads like motorways that I was not allowed to drive on and smart motorways that didn't exist.

Why didn't you just get your husband to do it for you