Going back to Uni to study for a Masters

SweetPea

Goalkeeper
I’m almost 28 now and graduated from uni nearly 5 years ago. I’ve had a few jobs since then and kind of feel I’ve been floating along without much direction, so it’s time I took some initiative and came up with a plan to improve my lot otherwise before I know it another 5 years will have passed and I’ll be no further forward, which is a scary thought.

One thing I’ve been giving a lot of thought to is applying to do a Masters. It wouldn’t be in the field I did my bachelor’s in - no interest in that - but has anybody else gone back later on to do a masters? Any advice, things to look out for or consider before applying etc?

Thanks in advance:)

It’s on my to-do list and if workload allows, maybe as soon as September this year.

I’m not going to do the same subject as my degree. If anything, I’m struggling to find a uni I’m happy with that does the course I’m looking at part time.

I’m almost 28 now and graduated from uni nearly 5 years ago. I’ve had a few jobs since then and kind of feel I’ve been floating along without much direction, so it’s time I took some initiative and came up with a plan to improve my lot otherwise before I know it another 5 years will have passed and I’ll be no further forward, which is a scary thought.

One thing I’ve been giving a lot of thought to is applying to do a Masters. It wouldn’t be in the field I did my bachelor’s in - no interest in that - but has anybody else gone back later on to do a masters? Any advice, things to look out for or consider before applying etc?

Thanks in advance:)

Haway then give us a laugh.

Haway then give us a laugh.

Haha I did Law, just realised quite quickly I didn’t want to make a career of it. It never really crossed my mind to defer for a year and change course at the time so I stuck it out thinking any degree would be better than no degree.
Look into fees, often your original undergraduate university will offer a fees discount.