First camera for a beginner (Sony Nex)

Status
Not open for further replies.

Finners

Central Defender
I'm thinking of getting a camera for my birthday after being inspired by the monthly photo competitions on here. But I am a complete novice when it comes to cameras so I have no idea what to look for. I've had a browse around the shops and the internet, and someone recommended that I start with a Sony NEX camera, mainly because it has instructions on the screen to tell me what i'm doing! Has any one got/used one of these? Are they any good? As i said i'm a complete novice when it comes to 'proper' photography and I don't want to blow a fortune on a camera that I can't use properly! Thanks for any advice.

http://www.sony.co.uk/hub/nex-compact-camera-system

I have no experience of Sony cameras so can't help you on that one.

What I would say is get yourself to a shop and hold a few cameras, then find one you like the feel of, it'll make a world of difference to you in the long run.

the NEX range from sony are brilliant cameras and would love to own one but for the cash i'd rather jump straight into getting a dslr.

by the way, play.com were knocking them out dead cheap at xmas, dunno if they still but might be worth having a look on there.

I would rate the Nikon above the Sony any day. Above ISO 400 Sony image quality tends to degrade very quickly indeed and Nikon metering and imaging is hugely superior. Also, as your photography knowledge grows you'll find you reach the limits of the NEX fairly quickly while the Nikon will allow you to push yourself a bit further before you feel that the performance characteristics of the camera are starting to hold you back.