Exclusive: Covid-19 may not have originated in China, Oxford University expert believes

• Thread starter Deleted member 27897
  • Start date
D

Deleted member 27897

Big story appearing in the Telegraph yesterday, and makes sense as scientific evidence starts to find samples of the virus in other locations way beyond the timescale, such as Barcelona last March.

I'm guessing that means one strain of it is what mutated then spread across the world due to the local conditions of where it was and not all of the strains mutating at the same time.

That appears every so often, marmots (or something similar) carry it on the steppes I think and pass it on from time to time. I was pretty surprised when I looked into it a few years back whilst living in the West of China after an earlier case emerged and found out it kills a lot of people. Inner Mongolia is still pretty undeveloped all told.

I'm no expert, but is he essentially saying that the virus has lain dormant for years and then, all of a sudden, despite different socio-economic conditions, isolation of places such as the Falklands, and population densities across the world, activated at once? How does that explain the massive burst of cases in Wuhan at the start of this? Surely if it was everywhere and activated at once for some reason (which sounds like quackery to me) then we'd have seen cases the world over at the same time? It doesn't really seem plausible to me on the face of it?

Last edited by a moderator:
It's from an Oxford University expert.

Rejecting new scientific information just because it doesn't fit your beliefs is like those who were raging at Gallileo in the 17th century.
Exactly the same as those who accept one scientific opinion as factual in the face of many scientific opinions because it fits their beliefs