DevOps and Agile - Anyone know this stuff?

PTR

Striker
I'm an IT Service Manager, with a working background in ITIL environments - but I've noticed more and more jobs advertise a requirement for skills in DevOps, Agile, Scrum etc.

Having done a little reading, it seems both of these are software development / delivery methodologies.

What confuses me is how learning about these skills as a producer/implementer of Software would apply to a service delivery manager type role. I've looked at some courses, and it doesn't seem to be focussed for that at all - yet the job adverts seem to disagree?

Can anyone throw any light on this?

Just the latest tick boxes marra. The courses are a piece of piss.
Difference is, I've always said "Yes, I've worked in ITIL environments all my career" - I've had zero exposure to Agile or DevOps, so I can't blag it! :lol:

Our work has free courses, so I'm going to check out the curriculum for the DevOps White belt and see if there's much that's relevant to me.

I'm an IT Service Manager, with a working background in ITIL environments - but I've noticed more and more jobs advertise a requirement for skills in DevOps, Agile, Scrum etc.

Having done a little reading, it seems both of these are software development / delivery methodologies.

What confuses me is how learning about these skills as a producer/implementer of Software would apply to a service delivery manager type role. I've looked at some courses, and it doesn't seem to be focussed for that at all - yet the job adverts seem to disagree?

Agile is just a different way of project management and scrum comes under agile. I did a course on it a couple of years back and was incredibly sceptical going into it but it was actually really good. Some parts of it are more applicable to different jobs. We used the kanban board afterwards for tasks and found it very useful. Especially for end of year review time when you're trying to remember what you did.