Data Protection stuff

Not sure if there are any DPA/GDPR experts on here to give a bit of advice for something which wound me up more than being serious.

Mrs was shopping in Sainsburys last night and paid for her stuff at the self checkout and somehow managed to drop her bank card without realising and only noticed this morning on her way to work.

She rang Sainsburys and was told by their customer service person that the bank card had been found and handed in. However they stipulated that if it wasnt collected by the close of business tonight it would be automatically destroyed due to Data Protection Laws. She isnt able to go tonight to get it and they wont allow anyone to collect it on her behalf with a passport to prove it is the correct person

Now I'm no expert but it seems a little bit over zealous of them to destroy everything if not collected within 24 hours but surely this is a company policy and nothing to do with Data Protection and GDPR legislation?

As you say, probably company policy. It may well have been implemented as a result of GDPR, but I am pretty sure its not a requirement of GDPR to destroy credit cards 24 hours after you find them!
Sledgehammer to crack a nut. Ironically in comparison Asda keep them for 10 days

Its not data protection but it is company policy - I left my card at Sainsbury last year, when I realised shortly after I want back for it - they had a box with approx. 200 cards in it and fished mine out for me - I asked the lass how long they keep them for, she said these were just off today and they all get cut up at the end of the day, so its understandable they don't want hundreds of lost cards hanging about

There won't be anything specifically covering that scenario. It will be company or local policy designed to not be caught out by them storing personal data longer than is necessary.

It seems over zealous and they should use some common sense seeing as you have been in contact.

I would tweet Sainsbury's about it.