Changes to my contract (notice period)

JohnnyKaysTractor

Reserve Squad
Hello all. Long time lurker here and just after some advice from those with HR knowledge. In early 2020, I signed a contract labelled as 'Initial' which stated that I was subject to 3 months' notice period. This seemed excessive as I'm not in a senior role, but something I was willing to accept as notice perdiods work both ways and with the onslaught of lockdown #1, it felt like a safeguard should the job become unsafe. Due to a change in remuneration in November 2020, I signed a 'Revised' contract which did not include any mention of notice. Does this mean that the contractual notice period has been reduced from 3 months' down to statutory notice due to the revised contract superseding the initial contract? I'm going to contact my union tomorrow for confirmation but I wanted to see what others' understanding and experiences were of this, as I have little knowledge of employment contract law.

Thanks for your help!!!

In my last place I signed a contract saying I had to give them 3 months notice if I left. However, they only had to give me a months money if they wanted shot of me!

Due to covid, through redundancy I got my month's money the back end of October.

Happily I'm back working again on better money than I was on before and a far better commute too 😁

Thanks Keith, good for you, I'm glad you've ended up in a better position. More money is always good but from a lifestyle point of view, cutting the commute is even better. I'm busy looking elsewhere, but I'm not at any high level and I think a 3 month contract would scare some employers off where the standard length is 1 month. I'm thinking my new contract takes precedence due to it being the most recent countersigned contract. I can find out tomorrow just being impatient by posting on here :)