Buying the lease on your home cost

vote quimby

Striker
My dad has decided he wants to buy the lease on his house. Was built in the 60s but has decided now is the right time for him to buy the lease. Reckons its better for me and my brother once we inherit the house. I dont see what the rush is personally. Anyway, hes been quoted just over 6 grand to do so. We'll end up going thirds on cost. This seems expensive but to be honest, I've got no knowledge of this. Anyone on here clued up or got experience in this, would be most grateful, thank-you.

My dad has decided he wants to buy the lease on his house. Was built in the 60s but has decided now is the right time for him to buy the lease. Reckons its better for me and my brother once we inherit the house. I dont see what the rush is personally. Anyway, hes been quoted just over 6 grand to do so. We'll end up going thirds on cost. This seems expensive but to be honest, I've got no knowledge of this. Anyone on here clued up or got experience in this, would be most grateful, thank-you.
If its on a 99 year lease which lots of them are you would struggle to get a mortgage on it.
The longer he leaves it the more the lease will be to buy as well.

Yeah, its a 99 year. So basically, if we don't buy it, it'll be harder for us sell later on?
if you don't extend lease definitely as will only get cash buyers.
as an example some bungalows up street from my Mam built in 60s one with lease with 40 years left was up for 55k last year a one nearby was freehold and up for twice this.

if you don't extend lease definitely as will only get cash buyers.
as an example some bungalows up street from my Mam built in 60s one with lease with 40 years left was up for 55k last year a one nearby was freehold and up for twice this.