Bloody dross!!! What would you pay for good work?

Status
Not open for further replies.
A

ajax_andy

Been doing a little looking around and have come across a fair few 'pro togs' around the North East who are charging more or similar prices to me, yet their work is utter garbage! I'm talking selective colouring, no use of flash, out of focus shots, plastic portrait pro faces... the list goes on and on and is seriously all the things someone who bought an entry level DSLR put it on auto and went 'wayhey I'm a wedding photographer!' would do.

I'm not prepared to post any links but I just don't understand how and why people book these clowns! I bet most don't have insurance, and aren't registered with the tax man... in fact I'm so certain a large part of me is tempted to compile a list and send to HRMC.

Ok they probably aren't stealing any potential clients from me as they are largely shooting fat chavs in ugly venues, but it's starting to annoy me a little (more than a little)... and then you look at their testimonials page and they have glowing references from happy clients... WTF?!

Looking at what they charge vs what I charge, then looking at the fuck all effort they've put in to learning even the basics, the shit equipment they have (and don't know how to use) and the lack of effort put in to PP I'm starting to think I should up my prices... so here's the question my rant is leading too...

As a semi normal member of society what would YOU pay for a wedding photographer for a full day i.e bridal prep to 1st dance. Don't base this on my current prices or what you think is normal... just genuingly what you'd feel you would shell out.

Edit - Pics on disk (roughly 350 - 400) in high and low res, no album included

effort where it is needed marra, I wouldn't even bother wasting your energy worrying about them.

They're shit, and basically assist better, pro photographers by providing perspective.