Julio Arca will learn tomorrow what the outcome of his sending off during the Wigan match will be.
The Argentinian was sent off just before half time for a second bookable offence, for allegedly diving in response to a tackle from Wigan’s Andy Liddell.
Mick McCarthy is adamant that Arca did not dive, and that referee Ray Olivier made a mistake. McCarthy said “The ref said Julio was looking at him for a foul – which of course he was, because their player had only taken both his legs out and not got the ball! It was never a sending off. If the decision is not rescinded then there is something seriously, seriously wrong in this game of football.”
McCarthy and Arca have asked Olivier to watch video replays of the incident and hope that he’ll reconsider his decision – their only hope is that the official will not include the second yellow in his match report, which must reach the FA within 48 hours of the match. Yellow cards may only be appealed on the grounds of mistaken identity, so that does not apply in this case.
Should Mr Olivier decide that he WILL include the second yellow in his match report, Arca will miss the forthcoming home matches against Wimbledon on December 20th and Bradford City on Boxing Day.