Something thats always bugged me and I don't get it. Perhaps someone can clear this up. Lets say a player is in the middle of the pitch and he plays a pass to a teammate. As he does so an opposing player closes him down and subsequently hits him late, usually resulting in a free kick and often a yellow card. If exactly the same thing happens in the box but its a shot, not a pass and nothing ever happens. Is it just me thinking this is wrong or is it another case of the unwriten rule of stuff being given outside the box, but not inside the box?